Three magnificent bell shaped stupas in white and grey stood firm under the blistering heat of the unforgiving Ayutthya weather. We walked around them, up their steep stairs and through their narrow passageways. They have stood the test of time even after it was destroyed and looted by Burmese conquerors in 1767. Wat Phra Si Sanphet now in ruins, was a Buddhist temple used for royal ceremonies since its construction in the late 15th century.
It is now situated in the Ayutthaya Historical Park. Open from 8am to 5pm – entrance fee: 50THB